Nevada driver's license

How to Get a Nevada Driver’s License

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Jul 22, 2021

Getting a Nevada driver’s license is an exciting time for younger drivers of all ages. There are many steps to getting one and you must follow each one precisely to do so. 

The process may seem daunting, and sometimes even impossible. However, there is no need to worry. In this guide, we’ll show you everything you need to know.

Instruction Permit

You can apply for your instruction permit as early as 15 ½. Regardless of your age, you will need to get your permit before getting a full license. To get your permit, you must do the following:

  • You’ll need to complete a vision test to determine if your eyesight is sufficient for operating a motor vehicle. You need a score of 20/40 or better.
  • You’ll need to pass a written test. The test consists of 50 questions, of which you need to answer at least 40 correctly. To prepare for the written test, we highly recommend our popular free practice permit tests or DMV prep course.
  • You’ll need to provide the proper documentation and pay the necessary fees at the DMV.

If you would like to know more about this part of the licensing process, we recommend that you read our in-depth Nevada Learner’s Permit Guide on our blog.

Nevada Adult Driver’s License

You will be eligible for your full Nevada driver’s license once you are 16 and have held your permit for at least 6 months. 

If you’re over 18, you can apply for your full license as soon as you’re ready. 

How to Get a Full Driver’s License in Nevada

You’ll need to complete the following requirements to get your driver’s license. Note that some of the requirements are only required if you’re under 18 years old

Complete a Driver’s Education Course (Under 18)

Many Nevada high schools offer driver education courses. If your high school does not, you may also enroll at a DMV-approved driving school. 

Complete Behind the Wheel Training (Under 18)

The amount of behind the wheel training you must complete depends solely on how you completed driver training. Your practice must include at least 10 hours of night time driving.

  1. Classroom/High School Course = 50 hours 
  2. Online Course = 50 hours
  3. If you live more than 30 miles from a driver training school, you must complete 100 hours of behind the wheel practice

Pass the Driving Test

The driving test is designed to examine your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle based on Nevada’s traffic rules and laws. You will be tested on a variety of maneuvers and tested on how well you keep control of your vehicle. Don’t stress too much about it – after taking 50-100 hours of practice you should be more than prepared to pass with flying colors. You must schedule your driving test online.

Before taking the exam, you must present the following:

  • Your learner’s permit
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of completed driver education
  • Proof of behind the wheel practice (DLD 130)
  • A road-legal vehicle
  • Valid insurance and registration for above vehicle

Nevada Driver’s License Restrictions Under 18

If you are under 18, you will face certain restrictions as a minor with a driver’s license:

  • You may not drive between 10 pm and 5 am unless you are traveling to and from work or school
  • You may not transport any passengers who are minors, unless they are members of your immediate family

That’s It!

That’s all you need to know in order to get your driver’s license in the state of Nevada! It is very simple, but requires you to do everything correctly and in order to avoid any headaches at the DMV. Be sure to reference this guide early and often on your path to gaining your license in the state.

sudent
Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

student image

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed