Getting your Colorado Driver’s License might seem like a hassle that can wait. This guide will tell you everything you need to know, including:
The many stages on the road to obtaining a driver’s license can feel complicated. Let’s break it down!
A learner’s permit allows limited driving privileges for people learning to drive. The training that is required to progress to a license will be based on your age as follows:
If you are interested in getting a Colorado Learner’s Permit, read our in-depth guide to learn more.
Colorado’s driver permit program allows you to drive while the adult who signed the Affidavit of Liability is in the front seat with you. This adult must be over 21 years old and have a valid unrestricted driver’s license.
If the person doesn’t have a license, they can appoint an alternative person to supervise in their place. They can also appoint alternative supervisors for regular driving, but these hours won’t count on your practice driving log.
A minor license allows you to drive with certain restrictions:
Your minor license expires 20 days after your 21st birthday. During this time frame, you can upgrade to your unrestricted license.
Once you turn 21, you can apply for your unrestricted Colorado driver’s license. If you have a minor driver’s license, you will be able to upgrade to an unrestricted license automatically. Otherwise, you will need to apply for a permit and take your written knowledge exam before you can schedule your behind-the-wheel exam.
You will not be required to fill a driving log or hold the permit for a specific period of time before you can apply.
Every person operating a motor vehicle on public roads is expected to have a valid driving license. Driving without a valid license can result in heavy penalties, including possible jail time!
To qualify for a driver’s license, you must:
When you prepare to apply for your Colorado driver’s license, make sure to allow for plenty of time to wait in line for processing and for each test. Appointments are available at most Colorado DMV offices.
The Physical Exam is required if you have certain medical conditions that make driving hazardous, such as a history of epilepsy. In general, you will provide a confidential medical exam report to pass this part of the application process.
The Vision Exam requires you to have at least 20/40 vision. If you need corrective lenses to meet the minimum requirement, your license will be marked to indicate you are required to wear them while driving.
The Written Test consists of 25 multiple choice questions, and you must get 20 of them right to pass. It covers various aspects of driving in your Colorado Driver’s Handbook. Pass it on the first try with Zutobi’s amazing handbook and learning program.
The Driving Exam for a minor or unrestricted license takes about 15-20 minutes, and it consists of three parts: Making sure the vehicle is safe for the road, demonstrating your knowledge of where essential parts of the vehicle are and their use, and driving on the road to show mastery of driving laws and safe driving practices.
Getting your license does not have to be a hassle. Our Colorado DMV manual and practice tests are designed to help you ace your written and driving exam. Our educational experts craft the program to maximize learning and memory retention. That’s why our users sport amazing success rates on their exams.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens