Vermont DMV Permit Practice Test 2022

The Vermont DMV permit test consists of 20 questions, and you must answer at least 16 questions correctly to get a passing score (80%). The questions in our sample tests are nearly identical to those on the official VT exam.

Not your state?
What to expect on the official VT permit test
Number of questions:
20
Correct answers needed to pass:
16
Passing score:
80%
Minimum age to apply:
15years
Length of test:
10min
Minimum period between attempts:
1day
practice test
Questions

When facing a green light at an intersection, you may proceed:

After yielding to traffic already in the intersection
BWithout yielding to traffic already in the intersection

Before proceeding at an intersection, you're always required to yield to traffic already in the intersection. This applies even if you're facing a green light.

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of a crash resulting in serious injury?

License revocation, fines & imprisonment
BVehicle impoundment, fines & imprisonment
CLicense suspension for 3 months, fines & imprisonment

Drivers in Vermont convicted of leaving a crash scene resulting in serious injury will have their license revoked, receive a fine of no more than $3,000, and face imprisonment for up to 5 years. If the accident only results in personal injury, it's punishable by a fine of no more than $2,000 and 2 years in jail.

What do flashing yellow or amber lights on a school bus mean?

The bus is about to stop
BThe bus driver is signaling for you to pass
CThere is a hazard on the road ahead

Flashing amber lights are used by school buses in Vermont and many other states to indicate that they are slowing down and preparing to stop. Motorists should slow down and prepare to stop when they see these lights. The amber lights are generally activated 100-300 feet before the bus will stop depending on the speed limit.

When may you turn right on a red light?

AAt all times
Unless signs prohibit
COnly if signs permit

If the turn can be made safely, you may turn right on a red light in Vermont after coming to a complete stop and yielding to any pedestrians/vehicles lawfully proceeding through the intersection. Look for signs that prohibit the turn.

Which passengers have to wear a seat belt?

The driver and all passengers 18 and older
BFront-seat passengers only
CBack-seat passengers only

In Vermont, the driver and all passengers age 18 and older must wear a seat belt. Violation of the seat belt law is a secondary offense. In addition, the child passenger safety law also requires that all children wear an appropriate child restraint. What is appropriate depends on the size, height and weight of the child. For children ages 8-16, the appropriate restraint is a seat belt or child safety seat.

What should you do before driving in snowy conditions?

Remove snow and ice from windows, lights, and mirrors
BLet the engine warm up for at least 40 minutes
CCheck your tire tread depth

Removing snow and ice will not only make it easier for you to see the road ahead. It will also make it easier for other road users to see you. While it can be beneficial to let your engine warm up before driving, it's unnecessary to let it warm up for 40 minutes. Checking your tire tread depth is important, but it is something you should do when driving in all weather conditions and not just snowy conditions.

When are studded tires permitted?

At all times
BBetween November and April
COnly when it's snowing

Studded tires have studs embedded in the tread that provide added traction. They are permitted in Vermont all year.

Does your trailer need to be equipped with independent braking?

Yes, if the gross weight exceeds 3,000 lbs
BYes, if the gross weight exceeds 5,000 lbs
CNo

The added weight of the trailer to your vehicle can drastically increase the distance needed to come to a full stop. For this reason, most states have laws regarding independent braking on trailers over a certain gross vehicle weight (GVW). In Vermont, the gross weight limit is 3,000 lbs.

When may you turn left on a red light?

From a one-way street onto another one-way street
BFrom a two-way street onto another two-way street
CFrom a one-way street onto a two-way street

The only time you're permitted to turn left on a red light in Vermont is when turning from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Before turning, yield to any pedestrians/vehicles lawfully proceeding through the intersection and make sure there aren't any signs prohibiting the turn.

What is the standard speed limit in residential areas?

A15 mph
25 mph
C35 mph

The standard speed limit in residential areas in Vermont is 25 mph unless otherwise posted.

How far away from a school bus loading or unloading passengers do vehicles have to stop?

display
Before reaching the school bus
B10 feet
C15 feet
D20 feet

Vehicles from both directions have to stop for school buses loading or unloading passengers. School buses use flashing red lights to indicate that the bus is stopped to load or unload school children. Do not proceed until the school bus has started driving again and the lights have stopped flashing. Failure to stop for a school bus displaying red lights is a 5-point offense in Vermont. A stop is not required when driving on the opposite side of a divided highway.

Which of the following is a 2-point violation?

Failure to stop for a stop sign or red light
BTexting while driving
CSpeeding

Vermont uses a point system to keep unsafe drivers off the roads. Failure to stop for a stop sign or red light is a 2-point violation. Texting while driving is a 2-5 point violation. Speeding is a 2-8 point violation depending on the severity. Accumulating 10 or more points within any two-year period will lead to the suspension of your driver's license.

When should you begin slowing down when exiting the freeway?

After entering the deceleration lane
BBefore entering the deceleration lane
CBefore signaling your intention to exit

When exiting a freeway or interstate, you may cause a rear-end collision if you begin slowing down too early as other drivers may not expect it. Wait until after entering the deceleration lane before slowing down.

Are you required to yield to pedestrians in a marked crosswalk?

Yes
BNo

You must stop and yield to pedestrians within crosswalks. In Vermont, failure to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk is a 4-point offense. When approaching a crosswalk, use caution and watch both sides of the street for pedestrians.

What is considered a sufficient following distance on a dry road?

A2 seconds or less
BAt least 3 seconds
At least 4 Seconds

You should always maintain a following distance of at least 4 seconds to the vehicle in front of you according to the "four-second rule" used in Vermont. In bad conditions and at higher speeds, you should consider increasing the following distance to 5-6 seconds so you have time to safely stop if necessary. On slippery roads, it may be necessary to increase the following distance even more.

You need to scan the area around your car. What does it mean to scan?

display
Looking ahead, to the sides, and continually checking your mirrors
BLooking in your side mirrors at least twice a minute
CFocusing on the road ahead

Knowing your surroundings is a part of defensive driving. You can minimize the risk of a car accident by knowing your surroundings as you’re able to spot and react to hazards faster.

You are required to use your headlights in certain conditions. Which of the following is an example of such a condition?

display
From sunset to sunrise
1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise
1 hour after sunset to 1 hour before sunrise
After 6 P.M. every day

From which lane should you begin a U-turn?

display
The far-left lane
BThe middle lane if one exists
CThe far-right lane
DFrom any lane

A U-turn refers to making a 180º turn to go back the way you came from. Make the U-turn from the far-left lane (the lane closest to the yellow center dividing line) without holding up traffic.

On wet roads, how can you tell if your tires are losing their grip on the road surface?

display
AThe steering will feel very heavy
BThe engine noise will increase
The steering will feel very light

If you drive at speed in very wet conditions, your steering may suddenly feel lighter than usual. If your steering feels very light, the tyres have lifted off the surface of the road, which is known as hydroplaning.

In case of hydroplaning, reduce your speed but don’t brake until your steering returns to normal.

Should you overtake in this situation? The vehicle in front is driving slowly and you are approaching a railway crossing.

display
AYes
No

As you are close to a railway crossing, you should not overtake under any circumstances. You need to cross the railway crossing after carefully looking toward both sides, which cannot be done while overtaking another vehicle at speed. Trains have large stopping distances and will not be able to stop for a vehicle on the crossing.

Is the Vermont Permit Test Hard?

That depends on who you ask. The fact is that less than 50% of people pass their permit tests on their first try, but we are convinced that’s because they only stuck to the handbook or didn’t study properly. That depends on who you ask. The fact is that less than 50% of people pass their permit tests on their first try, but we are convinced that’s because they only stuck to the handbook or didn’t study properly.

Zutobi offers practice tests with questions based on past and current written tests. With these practice test questions, and the other material offered in our driving course, passing the test can be easier than you think.

Pass Your Vermont Permit Test the First Time with Zutobi

Zutobi is proven to help you earn a passing score the first time you take your permit test. Just ask 95% of our customers who pass the first time. Here is how Zutobi can help.

  • Learn using bite-sized lessons that you’ll actually remember.
  • Learn all of the material you need to know in order to pass your permit test. Information like: road signs and their meanings, traffic laws, and all things vehicle related.
  • Stay motivated to pass your permit test through our gamification; earn points, achievements, badges, and more.
  • Test your knowledge with our Vermont permit practice tests that simulate the real thing.
  • Learn from your mistakes with answers and explanations for every multiple choice question.
  • All the material you need to pass your permit test is within the course - so you won’t have to look anywhere else.
  • Use our app or website to study anytime, anywhere, and on any device.
  • Save time, money, and brain cells by studying for your permit test right the first time.

Try Our FREE Vermont Permit Practice Test

Test what you think you already know about driving in our free Vermont permit practice test now. And if you don’t do as well as you’d like, we have good news…we built an entire course to help!

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed